top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Pre-Winter Wellness Check

Are y'all prepared for this winter?


I don't know about y'all, but I live in the Northern part of the United States. And unless you're in an area where your winter consists of 50 degree weather, you already know what time it is. It hasn't even gotten to a point where it is consistently cold throughout the day, but the sense of dread for the colder seasons has already come upon me. I'm literally sitting here typing this with a blanket wrapped around my body. I have always hated colder weather with a burning passion; I always get cold easily, so even in the later portion of the fall when temperatures start to dip into the 40s range, I'm already swapping out my yoga pants and leggings for sweatpants and hoodies.


In addition to this dreaded physical preparation, I've been trying to prepare myself as best as I could for the mental downturn of the winter as well. Although I don't have a clinical diagnosis of Seasonal Affective Disorder (also known as seasonal depression), I know that most people do struggle with a decline in mood/mental attitude towards the onset of winter. This, along with the already mind-numbing effects of remaining in quarantine for so long, has me slightly worried. It's already a struggle trying to stay attentive in school while classes are completely online; and, although I'm still able to go outside for bare necessities like food and toiletries, my trepidation for cold weather makes me unwilling to step foot outside of my house. I can only imagine that a lot of my friends and classmates, as well as students and employees across the United States.


So, how do we deal with this type of shut-in?

After some research to see how professionals recommend that we should cope, here are some suggestions that have been advised:


  1. Maintain social connections as much as possible. Although we're unable to connect physically with new people as much as we'd like to, it's important to remember those who are already in our lives. If you're stuck at home with immediate family (or by yourself), try to schedule online events with your friends. Some fun ways to engage your friends virtually would be to play games (like the increasingly popular game Among Us, or an online charades game), make different TikToks together, or even have more serious conversations about winter goals or progress updates.

  2. Practice meditation or mindfulness. It may not be the best idea to spend all of your time alone, but it's important to carve out some time to check in with yourself and how you're feeling. Try having "weekend retreat" days where you completely log off of digital media, and spend the day self-pampering, reading, or doing anything else that engages you without using a screen. Try to develop a solid morning or night routine in order to make sure that you're maintaining your personal hygiene. In addition to personal hygiene, a great way to maintain your mental hygiene would be to make sure you're self--reflecting often; meditating, journaling, or using other expressive outlets would be a great way to make sure that this is done effectively.

  3. Stay in the light. It might seem kind of cheesy, but there is a definite correlation behind darker seasons causing darker moods. In order to make sure that you get the most light out of your winter season, try to keep your blinds open during the brightest parts of the day. If you're not averse to the cold like I am, it might be a good idea to take a walk outside for a few minutes, or sit on the porch when you do your online work. For some, light therapy may be a good alternative for those who need it; if this is the case, make sure to talk to a doctor or therapist for how you could transition to this method before the cold sets in.

  4. Find (and resist) your triggers. Remember that although the conditions may not be ideal, the negative feeling is in your head. What's causing your mood to change so suddenly, and when does it occur? If you're like me, and you notice that you get a little sad when you get cold, try to get in the habit of making a cup of team or buy a fuzzy blanket/stuffed animal to keep you warm. Is the nighttime darkness getting you down? Look for some cute decorative lights to brighten your bedtime mood. Whether your seasonal depression actually changes with the seasons or is actually a worsening of a more serious diagnosis, it's always important to work on detecting when your mood shifts. This way, you can put some measures in place that'll help you adapt to the longer nights.

I'm not gonna lie, I think this particular winter season is going to be tough. I already don't like the cold, so I know with the lack of social interaction things are going to be a little bit different. However, I think it's important for all of us to remember that we're not alone in this; sure, a lot of people are being goofy and continuing to go outside while COVID rates are increasing in some areas, but there are more people staying inside than it might seem. As long as you make sure not to sit in your S.A.D.ness, there's a good chance that we'll make it out better than we've made it past any other winter.


What are some things that you're planning to distract you from the long winter ahead?


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page