top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Skincare Scouting in 2021: Broke College Kid Edition (pt. 1)

We're trying to hit that #QuarantineGlow for 2021... and maybe get rid of a few dark spots along the way.


If there's anything you need to know about me, it's that I *love* getting insight on new skin care advice. This has not been a new ordeal at all; as someone who struggled with nummular eczema and overall dry/sensitive skin for most of my life, hunting for skincare products that would assuage my dry patches was a common occurrence for my mom and me. Now that I have grown out of that eczema and just have to manage dry skin in the winter, I love to look for skincare products that provide a punch of nutrients and treat my concerns. This has translated onto all of my media platforms; I follow countless estheticians and skincare brands, hoping to absorb any forms of skin care advice that I can get for free. I have learned the importance of an occlusive in the winter when you need something to seal in the moisture from your regular routine (I have affectionately called it the LCO method but for your skin instead of your hair); I know that your Black can and will, in fact, crack if you don't moisturize and wear sunscreen; and, I personally learned that my skin thinks that a couple of mainstream ingredients (like hyaluronic acid, for example), actually are not my holy grail ingredients. Maybe I'll write about that later.


Here's something you need to read first, though. I want to tell y'all about the products that I have my eyes set on for my daily skincare routine. But, here's the thing. Whether this post leads to a series of topics that I want to continue talking about, or it's just a one-time thing, I want to make it clear that these products that I am going to talk about are NOT going to be expensive. Whether I have hella money to spend or not, I'm still going to talk about drugstore and easily accessible products. Let me explain: I'm a broke college kid.

Now realistically, let me explain. No, I am not completely broke, but I have repeatedly run into occurrences where I have asked or searched for *affordable* product recommendations from various people, whether it be professional estheticians or people I recently worked with (since I recently worked at a store that sold skincare products). And I'm not sure if it's classism (not to offend those that I've talked to... unless the shoe fits), or if it's the fact that they genuinely believed that a $60 dollar eye cream was affordable (or that it was the only thing that worked), but I only received recommendations that were completely out of my price range. And hey, I get it; the term "affordable" is completely different for every person that has said it. However, everyone that I have asked knows my age and current status (AKA, traditional broke college kid), yet they still recommend things that simply aren't accessible for me, let alone many adults who fall into the middle-class category. I know that some people can afford and enjoy high-end skincare products, and I know that others can afford to spend over 30$ on a skincare product comfortably. However, my series/post is dedicated to those who either can't afford/access high-end skincare, or those who would like to use a "dupe" before they spend money on a higher-end product that promises similar results. Sure, there might be some goodies sprinkled in here and there, but for the most part, I’ll be reviewing things that are commonly found in a Target or Walmart (maybe Ulta or Sephora if I’m feeling spicy).

Without further ado, let’s get started!

Prospect #1: Oil Cleanser


I’m looking for an absolute all-star to replace my current oil-cleanser: Palmer’s Skin Therapy Cleansing Oil. This baby right here works pretty well, with ingredients like sweet almond oil and apricot kernel oil in the Big 10 (AKA the first ten ingredients in the total ingredient list), which are non-comedogenic oils that can slowly help with dark spots and puffiness. However, the rosehip fragrance is *almost* unbearable. With my sensitive skin (and sensitive nose), I hate smelling like roses after my first cleanse. It’s enough to give my face a slight “skin-crawling” sensation that makes me want to wash it off immediately. I love the oil-to-cream/milk consistency, but we’re just going to have to part ways soon.


Here’s a list of my potential prospects (in price order):


  1. Pond’s Cold Cream (Fragrance-Free); $5.99 at Target.com: While this item is a drugstore cult classic, it worries me that the mineral oil at the front line might be a bit clogging for my pores. I know that I’ll end up washing it off anyway, but there’s just something about the mineral oil and beeswax combo that makes me hesitate slightly. Still in all, though, it’s probably one of the toughest drugstore competitors in the store right now and that’s speaking just on price point and popularity alone.

  2. 2) 100% Hemp Seed Oil; currently on sale for $10.39 at SwansonVitamins.com: While looking for a different skincare product, I became fascinated with the use of Omegas in skincare products, the fatty acids that could make the difference between dull looking and glowing skin. During my research, I also discovered that hemp seed oil has become popular in skincare (and the culinary world) because of its high Omega 3/6 content. While I do still need to research further on its effects when used topically, this has still piqued my interest; and, for 16.9 ounces for 10.39, it’s not bad when compared to the price point for oil blends.

  3. 3) Artnaturals Luxe Cleansing Oil; $16.99 at Ulta.com: I will admit, mainly the packaging for this one caught my eye, but the Big 10 didn’t disappoint. I’m talking sunflower, sweet almond, argan, grape seed, and avocado oils, sis. Not only is the packaging sleek enough to make you feel like you treated yourself, but there are a ton of skin-loving, non-comedogenic oils in here that are sure to leave your skin feeling soft and taken care of. If I feel like splurging, this might be my next buy.

---

Prospect #2: Cleanser


ick of it. I’m currently using the Holika Holika Aloe Facial Cleansing Foam from Ulta (not necessarily by choice), and while it foams very nicely and has a soft, pleasant aloe-cucumber-y smell, I don’t feel like it’s giving my skin the attention that it wants from a cleanser. The cleanser that I need on my team has to either be gel or foam (since I have dry/combo skin), and I’m looking for something simple with a few nourishing ingredients to pack a little extra love into my routine.


The cleansers in question:

  1. Dove Sensitive Skin Bar Soap; $3.39 for two at Target.com: When I first heard that one of my friends using Dove bar soap on her face, I twisted my fact up in opposition. Who would use a bar of soap on their face? I thought, naively judging the idea. But, as an esthetician that I follow (so sorry, can’t remember who!) pointed out, Dove bar soap isn’t really soap. It’s technically a syndet bar, meaning that it contains emollients (ingredients that soften the skin), humectants (ingredients that hydrate) and surfactants (ingredients that reduce the product’s harsh “scrubbing” effect on skin), which are all helpful in gently cleansing and moisturizing the skin. I’m slightly hesitant, just because I’ve never tried a bar cleanser and I’m not so sure it’ll do what I’m looking for, but Dove has definitely caught my attention.

  2. Sweet Chef Oat Milk Latte Cleanser; $12.99 at Target.com: Now I know that I’ve been increasingly enjoying oat milk, but the Sweet Chef cleanser is the most recent thing to catch my eye. Featuring oat kernel extract and oat kernel flour in the Big 10, as well as claiming to nourish skin with Vitamin B5, I was curious to see if this hidden Target gem would have anything worth showcasing, or if it was just another cutesy product trying to catch the attention of “trendy” customers. I guess we’ll find out soon enough… if I choose it.

  3. CeraVe Hydrating Cream-to-Foam Cleanser; $10.98 at Walmart.com: Ah, CeraVe. The TikTok Wonder. IF I can ever find the small size of this in stores, I would love to give it a shot. A dermatologist tested product, CeraVe is most popularly known for its generous use of ceramides and hyaluronic acid. Ceramides are essentially waxy molecules that help form a protective layer on top of your skin to prevent damage and moisture loss. Hyaluronic acid is an ingredient known to hold over 1000 times its weight in water. Naturally, introducing these ingredients to your skincare routine would prove to hydrate your skin extraordinarily. My drawback, though? My skin doesn’t seem to like hyaluronic acid all that well. I’m not sure if it’s that or something else, but so far every product I’ve used that has hyaluronic in it has given me breakouts on my forehead. Maybe it’s just too much hydration, or maybe I need to find an alternative, but I’ll keep that in mind when purchasing my next cleanser.


*NOTE: No bad reactions from it! Just believe the packaging when it says detox; it’s pretty drying on my skin, but it smells pleasant and does what it says it does!

---

Prospect #3: Toner


Surprisingly enough, this is the only product that I don’t have any prospects for, but I wanted to talk about it anyway. I use the Lily of the Desert Aloe Vera Gelly (link here) on my face, and it’s honestly been my saving grace for years now. Not only does it soothe breakouts or adverse reactions to products, but this formulation of aloe vera gel also has Vitamins A & E inside, meaning that it has all of the beautiful benefits of regular aloe vera and then some. I’ve been using this for years, partially because I’m still not 100% sure on what to look for in a toner, but also because nothing else that I’ve tried in the past has been able to step towards Old Faithful. If you’re looking for a simple start to toner, aloe vera gel might be your best bet!

---

Prospect 4#: Moisturizer


I recently took a chance on e.l.f.’s new(er) skincare line because I knew that their skincare products had a tremendous “bang-for-buck” quality to them. While the e.l.f. Cosmetics Superhydrate Moisturizer ($12 anywhere you could find it) started off as being over-moisturizing (leaving me looking greasy after it was on my face for the whole day), the script has flipped, and I find myself needing to put even more moisturizer on my face throughout the day. I’m not sure if this was because of the squalane, a plant-derived ingredient that is said to help improve moisture balance, or if the product as a whole just played around with my skincare barrier, but I know that I need a change.


Here’s who we have right now:


  1. Simple Water Boost Hydrating Gel Cream; $6.32 at Walmart.com: I discovered this product on Twitter (where I usually discover my skincare products), and I was shocked to find that an esthetician was rooting for such a cost-efficient product. It was even more shocking to discover that even though Simple is a drugstore brand that I’ve commonly seen in stores, I have never seen this product in my entire life. Even with a Google search, this moisturizer isn’t active on the Simple website and isn’t on the shelves in most popular stores. My interest has grown since then; with glycerin and Vitamin E in the Big 10, as well as claims to various minerals and plant extracts, this Simple moisturizer speaks for the sensitive skin-havers that don’t want anything to do with perfume, color, or chemicals.

  2. Jason Vitamin E 25000 IU Facial Moisturizer; $9.29 at Target.com: I always knew that Vitamin E was good for your skin, but this seemed like a crazy amount for a facial moisturizer. But hey, there’s nothing wrong with a little crazy! With glycerin, sunflower seed oil, and avocado oil in the Big 10, I already know it might be a bit oily/thick. But, the rich thickness of this Vitamin E cream might add to the product’s overall charm, ensuring hydration and an overall moisturizing effect.

  3. Andalou Naturals CannaCell Happy Day Cream; on sale for $15.99 at Ulta.com: Now, I’ll let you in on a little secret… I already have this cream in my possession. After I finish with the e.l.f., I was going to give this a shot. With aloe leaf juice as the first ingredient in the Big 10, followed by water and vegetable glycerin, I can kind of tell that this product might be some heat. The product is described by the brand as having hemp stem sells, being rich in vitamins, and possessing Omega 3 and Omega 6 in a 3:1 ratio. I don’t know what all of that means, yet, but I know that it makes me excited just typing it. I bought this gem after talking with an esthetician about my skincare concerns, and I can’t wait to try it! Of course, if it doesn’t work I can always go back to the drawing board. However, it seems like a strong prospect for my skincare goals.


--------


Alright, y’all! As much as I’d like to continue writing, my hands need a break. I’ll definitely be doing a part 2 to this to cover serums, exfoliants, face masks, and SPF (and maybe even an eye cream or face tool!). I hope to also go more in-depth about my overall skincare goals, as well as potential updates about anything.


For all of my skincare junkies, though: Which of these prospects (if any) caught your eye? Do you have any other drugstore items that are making you curious? Let me know about them in the comments!



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page