top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Skincare Scouting in 2021: Broke College Kid Edition (pt. 2)

The second round of skincare draft picks is up and running; let's see who's got a shot to be in my skincare roster for the next year!


I did want to point out a few small differences compared to the first post really quick; while I am still trying to remain with affordable options, a lot of these recommendations will be from online platforms rather than traditional drug stores like Walmart and Target. While the drugstores still have many options that may be suitable for you, there were a lot of choices that I didn’t necessarily rock with for more reasons than one. Hopefully, these are still relatively easy for you to access, as I have provided links for all products below.


With that being said, though, let’s finish this off!

After asking for advice from a couple of estheticians on which products are worth keeping simple and which are worth the pretty penny, I received answers saying that serums, acne treatments, and maybe sunscreens/SPFs were worth the spend. To stay true to the budget-friendly goal of this small series, though, I still wanted to limit the prices for these; while I will likely be listing products that are more than $20, the price will not go any higher than about $40. With that in mind, let's take a look at the rest of our prospects.


Prospect #1: Serums

To be honest, I don't currently have a serum in my everyday routine just yet; since I'm relatively new to the skincare game, I've been working on getting versions of the basics (cleanser, moisturizer, and SPF) that work the best for me. However, I'm ready to take it a step further; with the winter winds whipping away at my face, I'd like something to give my skin some hydrating TLC. In addition to this, anything that could slowly work at the few acne scars on my face would be great, too!


These are all up for grabs in my opinion:


  1. Aveeno Calm + Restore Triple Oat Serum; $17.97 at Walmart.com: This serum is a bit of a newer product from the Aveeno collection. Normally, Aveeno products wouldn’t catch my eye; although I have drier skin because of my eczema, Aveeno products never seem to work as well as they claim to. However, something about the triple oat complex that they feature in this product makes my skin anticipate the soothing feeling that it might be able to have. This milky, opaque serum features water and glycerin as the first two ingredients in the Big 10, which serve as hydration. Aveeno also claims to have prebiotic oat and feverfew extract in this serum, which are both meant to soothe skin and strengthen the moisture barrier. With sensitive skin in mind, there’s a chance that Aveeno might get to do business with me, after all.

  2. Paula’s Choice Omega+ Complex Serum; on sale for $31.45: Now, I know that Paula’s Choice absolutely adores their 2% BHA Exfoliating Treatment, but I was surprised to see that they had an interesting lineup of other products, including this serum. Seeming to be unique in its kind (at least, as far as my research went), this Omega + serum contains a slew-full of Omega fatty acids, which are supposed to strengthen the skin’s barrier and fight against environmental damage. In other words, its lightweight formula seems to address the exact thing that I said I was having issues with earlier. With skin hydrating ingredients like water and glycerin, as well as Omegas 3-6-9 AND ceramides in the Big 10, the Omega+ serum is a product that sounds quite enticing.

  3. Paula’s Choice RESIST Super Antioxidant Serum; on sale for $33.15: Paula made sure to do her research well because this serum was equally as luxurious-sounding as the last. The Super Antioxidant serum works to provide hydration and radiance to environmentally damaged skin, while also improving the visible signs of aging. Featuring peptides and Vitamin C in its formulation, there is a myriad of antioxidizing ingredients that are said to leave you looking smooth and renewed after consistent use. While I don’t necessarily need to combat aging just yet, this lightly tinted serum has piqued my interest for sure, and antioxidants might be just what I need in order to salvage my skin from the harsh Midwest winds.


---


Prospect #2: Exfoliants


Now… Do you remember when I said that Paula’s Choice loved to advertise for their 2% BHA liquid exfoliant? I’m guilty of buying it. The Paula’s Choice exfoliant serves as a great acne treatment for when I have the occasional hormonal breakout, and it had my skin texture looking nice and even after consistent use. However, I wanted to venture into different kinds of exfoliants. My skin seems to love lactic acid, and I want to venture out and see what PHAs (polyhydroxy acids) and fruit enzymes are all about. Maybe I could even find something similar to the PC toner in terms of additional extracts, like the green tea extract found in the BHA toner.


So far, these have been interesting to read up on:


  1. Good Molecules Overnight Exfoliating Treatment; $6.00 at GetGoodMolecules.com: Now, I’m not going to lie to y’all… the price point was the first thing that turned my head. I heard about Good Molecules every now and then, but with so many people focusing on a more… Ordinary brand of products that were inexpensive and easily accessible, I never had the chance to really take a look at what GM had to offer. After stumbling across this during a web search, however, I was pleasantly surprised to find something like this. The Overnight Exfoliating Treatment has a ten percent blend of alpha- and beta- hydroxy acids, including glycolic, lactic, and salicylic acid. This blend of AHA and BHA works to penetrate the epidermal layer of skin and work to dissolve any oil buildup in your pores, making it good for evening skin texture and tackling acne breakouts. While my skin is slightly sensitive to glycolic acid, Good Molecules may cause me to risk it all in order to possibly discover a six-dollar hidden gem.

  2. Some By Mi AHA-BHA-PHA 30 Days Miracle Toner; $16.00 at SokoGlam.com: Now, I am very new to K-Beauty, but I am loving the things that I have been finding so far. This AHA-BHA-PHA toner is a big-stepper, not only featuring three different hydroxy acids but also hosting do-good ingredients like papaya extract and tea tree water extract to boost cell turnover and promote clear skin. An added boost of niacinamide and a compound called adenosine work to brighten skin and lessen the appearance of wrinkles. This fragrance-free steal is apparently a cult favorite on the Soko Glam website, and with these all-star ingredients, it might be time for my initiation as well.

  3. Klavuu Green Pearlsation PHA Calming Toner; $19.00 at SokoGlam.com: While this toner isn’t a triple-threat like the last one, Klavuu still seems to have some great additions to it that keep it on my wish list. Made up of a gentle PHA, this exfoliant has the addition of tea tree and Centella Asiatica extracts to reduce inflammation or overall discomfort from the exfoliation process. The addition of marine extracts and hyaluronic acid work to promote cell turnover and hydrate the skin, which allows for a smooth transition from exfoliation to hydration and moisture from your other skincare products. Although it won’t help with acne breakouts as much as something like a BHA would, this PHA toner seems to be great for removing dead skin and promoting a healthy glow.


---


Prospect #3: Face Masks


It’s time for my guilty pleasure! Now, I know that face masks aren’t a staple to a solid skincare routine, but I couldn’t start writing a skincare post without mentioning them at least once. While I just recently got into sheet masks, I am a tried-and-true fan of rinse-off masks. Whether it was me learning how to mix my own clays to make a skincare mask as a little kid, or me stepping into the Big-Girl World of professionally formulated masks that target specific concerns, masks are something that allows me to add a little bit more relaxation into my routine every once in a while. The current mask that I use consistently is the Shea Moisture Manuka Honey and Yogurt Glow Getter Honey Mask. The slimy formula and slight yogurt-y smell may be a bit off-putting, but I always feel like my skin is vibrant and glowing after every use! But after being halfway through my second jar, I’m ready for a change. Since my concerns are mainly addressed in the products that remain on my face after rinsing off the mask, I usually just look for something that’s hydrating, moisturizing, or full of antioxidants and other goodies that will nourish my skin. Honey is a plus, but things like charcoal and other ingredients are a no-go.


Look at what I found!


  1. Earth to Skin Cucumber Jelly Mask; $8.98 at Walmart.com: This bright green jelly mask definitely caught my eye while shopping for other cheap beauty finds. Although it doesn’t promise much in terms of benefits, the cucumber fruit water present in the Super Greens Mask is said to maintain your skin’s healthy pH balance and provide soothing nourishment to your skin. With other ingredients such as water, glycerin, allantoin, and castor oil in the Big 10, moisture seems to be this mask’s M.O.. I will point out the small presence of dye (Yellow #5) and fragrance in this product, which may cause skin sensitivities for some. Hopefully, though, the fragrance isn’t too strong where it’ll irritate my skin, and is instead a subtle, cooling cucumber scent.

  2. Bliss In the Honey Mega Moisturizing Lavender Honey Mask, $16.00 at Ulta.com: I’m glad that I was able to find a sweet treat to replace my current honey mask! The In the Honey mask is formulated particularly to address drier skin in the cooler months. Being free of parabens, sulfates, and other ingredients that some many shy away from(although they’re not all that bad… we’ll talk about that later), the Bliss mask instead has honey, honey extract, and propolis extract as ingredients that are just after the Big 10. With soothing lavender oil and hydrating squalene as bonuses, It’s no surprise that this mask brings a thought of soothing, nourishing bliss.

  3. Bliss Green Tea Wonder Clarifying Overnight Gel Mask With Azelaic Acid: $15.00 at BlissWorld.com: I’m a tea lover, so as if the honey mask wasn’t enough, they had to take it a step further and have a green tea mask! This one might not be so much for hydrating as it is for spot treating acne, but the fermented green tea oil present can make sure to hydrate and balance the skin. Green Tea Wonder also contains aloe and rose extracts, which help with moisture and the control of oil production. The star in this mask, though? Bliss gives this mask the title of “clarifying” due to the key ingredient of azelaic acid, which provides the dual benefits of exfoliating and antioxidizing the skin. Even though this mask might not be for heavy use (as you’re recommended to exfoliate anywhere from 1-3 times a week), it’s on my list to use when I need an overall boost of hydration and glow.


---


Prospect #4: SPF


As far as SPF, I’m in-between brands. I used to wear the Supergoop Play Everyday Lotion (SPF 50) on my face, but recently I feel like their formula switch, because it feels like a really thick formula that’s too much for my skin. I just recently bought the Aveeno Protect + Hydrate Sunscreen for Face (SPF 50), and while the formula is a lot stiffer, it absorbs into the skin nicer than the Supergoop did. Right now, I’m fine with the Aveeno, but I don’t feel like that’s my resting place for sunscreen. I want something that’s lightly moisturizing, with NO white/gray cast (AKA POC/Black girl-friendly), and something that doesn’t leave me looking like a ball of grease by the end of the day. After scrolling through a popular esthetician’s Twitter thread of sunscreen-wearers, these are the few that caught my eye.


  1. COSRX Aloe Soothing Sun Cream (SPF 50/PA+++); $15.90 at YesStyle.com: With a lightweight formula that holds aloe vera as its key ingredient to retain moisture, the COSRX sunscreen seems to be a good alternative to thick sunscreens that could potentially leave a greasy residue. What I like about this product’s description is that it claims to be a good product for the summer, keeping skin hydrated but not slick during the hotter seasons. With a high protection grade (which is the significance of the “PA+++”), the Aloe Soothing Sun Cream is sure to protect you from both UVA and UVB rays, which means that you’ll have more protection from skin cancer and sunburn. (EXTRA PIECE: for anyone wondering, I believe that this is a chemical sunscreen. For me, I don’t have a preference, so I wasn’t too concerned. Make sure to read the list of ingredients, though!)

  2. Dr. G Green Mild Up Sun + (SPF 50); on sale for $17.96 at YesStyle.com: Dr. G wanted to make sure that you guys knew that this one was a physical sunscreen! Containing 100% Zinc oxide, this product assures that their sensitive skin formula can protect you from UV rays as well as blue light. Dr. G’s sunscreen boldly claims to leave zero white cast, which is somewhat odd for physical sunscreen products (since it’s usually the minerals that do the whole “cast” thing); in addition to the sun-screening benefits, there are also compounds in the formula (the trademarked FILMEXEL ingredient, and Pycnogenol) that aim to protect you from environmental stressors. Lastly, soothing centella asiatica makes an appearance to calm and moisturize the skin. While I’m hoping that they’re true to their “no-cast” claim, the added bonuses of environmental protection and calming ingredients make this particular product appear a bit finer in my eyes.

  3. Etude House Sunprise Mild Watery Light (SPF 50/PA+++); $19.99 at Walmart.com: With the cute, light green packaging of the Etude House sunscreen, I almost thought that it wouldn’t be as strong of a prospect when compared to the other two products. However, this sun gel formula also has a high grade of UV protection, packing a punch of twenty different plant extracts to help provide you with additional nourishing benefits. From my knowledge, I believe that this is a chemical sunscreen as well (but please make sure to read the ingredients if you have a preference), but with another lightweight formula, I might want to snag this one for the summer, too.

Well, that concludes the 2021 Skincare Draft: Broke College Kid Addition! In a couple of months or so, maybe I’ll have an update on what I ended up picking, as well as how my draft picks end up treating my skin. With the colder season still underway, I’m hoping that some change could potentially fix my Quarantine Ash.


Did you like any of these skincare products? What’s a product that you’ve had your eyes on? I want to hear about it below!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page